building nests, revisited

I have been absent and sporadic for a few months, but I want to announce a new commitment to building our nest! It’s been absolutely crazy since D and I got engaged, but not necessarily with wedding stuff. We just lead a crazy life, which I should document here, so now I am renewing my dedication to this blog.

Wedding updates will have to come at a later time. But I have a few new things to share!

First of all, our friends are having a baby! We are so excited and can not imagine a better set of parents. At the same time, I am extremely jealous. :0) I can’t wait to be a mother, but first of all a wife. So, D and I have been talking more and more about our future.

We realized that we’re on the same page when it comes to our timeline (although, I would like to rush it just a little…). Financially we aren’t ready for children. Plus, we’d like to be married first. But we did realize that we both want to have children by the time I’m 30 (I will turn 28 in November….). So within a few years we’ll be parents together!

Not to discount N. He’s absolutely fabulous. Speaking of – last weekend D and I drove up to Cass Lake, MN to pick N up from Spanish camp. We got there just in time to see the parent program and have N show us around camp. He had such a blast. It was so much fun – and a great glimpse into parenthood. On the same trip, we decided to take a stop off at the headwaters of the Mississippi, so I have some great pictures to share later.

I have been working at calling myself a step-mother so I get used to the idea that I am a parent to N. I kind of like the sound of it!

Speaking of motherhood… I had a great lunch with an old friend, JH, at a great revamped restaurant: Muddy Waters. (JH’s little brother is a chef there, so we wanted to try out the food – it’s great!) JH had a little boy just four months ago, and is returning back to work today for the first time since becoming a mother. So we chatted about that, my wedding, and rekindling old friendships. It was a great way to get out of the house.

So, I guess this blog should have been titled motherhood, revisited. There’s a lot of motherhood going around lately, and I want to catch the bug!

Any new mothers out there have any advice? :0)

Leave a Reply

